Filipino Fridays 2014 #3: What do you think of fanfiction?

image

It’s less than two weeks before the Filipino ReaderCon. Today is Sunday but since I already started with Filipino Fridays, might as well answer last Friday’s question. Here it is:

Fanfiction is pretty popular, no doubt about it, but it has been received with mixed feelings by many authors and writers. Some don’t mind it, and even welcome readers who give their own spin on their work. Some writers don’t like it at all, to the point that they contact fanfiction authors to take their work down. Others use it as a jump-off point for their own writing.

How about you? What is your take on fanfiction? Do you read fanfiction, and if you do, what kind of fanfiction do you read? Do you write fanfiction, and why? Or are you against fanfiction? Enlighten us.

I read fan fiction when I was in highschool. I don’t patronize it but I read some Harry Potter fan fiction. I enjoyed those short stories shipping Harry and Hermione. Haha! I remember when I found a copy of Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix on the internet while waiting for the book. At first I thought it was the real book that just got leaked. It was long, like a real novel. While reading it, I realized it was just fan fiction. But I finished it anyway.

I don’t read fan fiction anymore. But I’m not against it. At present, I just prefer to read the original stories from the authors. And I still have a lot of books to read. I have been discovering amazing books and authors lately, no extra time to read fan fiction. But I enjoyed reading Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell. In there, I read some fan fiction again, and I loved it.

Leave a comment