Required Reading: April 2014

rr_april

One of the reasons why I started blogging is to encourage myself to read more and explore other genres. So I decided to join the Required Reading meme hosted by Tina of I Like It Dog-Eared. I loved reading my friends’ required readings before so why not do the same and join the fun? This would be my first time to require myself to read books aside from our book club’s monthly discussion books. So let’s see how devoted I will be in my required reading for this month. Here’s my list:

1. Atonement by Ian McEwan – Lynai (of It’s a Wonderful Bookworld!) and I have been planning to read this since January and finally, we started our buddy reading this month together with some of our friends.  We’ve been talking about buddy reading a book and I chose a book from her 2014 Reading Goals that is also included in the TFG Filipino ReaderCon 2013 Recommendations List.

2. If On a Winter’s Night A Traveler by Italo Calvino – This is the current monthly discussion book of our book club. The theme is book about books because this month is the book club’s anniversary month. (Yay, excited!)

3. Sweet Valley Confidential: Ten Years Later by Francine Pascal – Since I’m spending a lot of my days at our home in Batangas this month, I decided to read a book that’s been sitting there untouched for months. I have read some not so good reviews about this book but I miss the Wakefield twins so I gotta go for it.

4. Interim Goddess of Love by Mina V. Esguerra – I haven’t read any books by Filipino authors for a very looong time. Then last month, I won an e-book copy of this trilogy from The Library Mistress Giveway. With 325 entries, I was lucky to be the winner. I better show how grateful I am by reading the book.

7 thoughts on “Required Reading: April 2014

  1. Sweet Valley Confidential turned the whole Sweet Valley universe topsy-turvy. Seriously, that’s the bottomline of the whole book. Whatever was before, reverse it and there you go, instant book! :p

  2. I did not became a big Sweet Valley fan, although I enjoyed them back then. Like the unicorn club, and the purple color….and stuff. Hehe. There’s even a TV show right? And is Interim your first Mina book? 🙂

    1. I think there’s a TV show but haven’t watched any. And Interim would be my first Mina book. It’s actually my first book by a Filipino author aside from Bob Ong’s and required readings in high school. Hehe.

    1. When you’re not busy anymore, I’ll think of another book to buddy read that I can cross out in my Reading Goals list. Hehe. And I’m excited to read this book of Mina’s.

Leave a Reply

