Required Reading: June 2014

rr2014-061

Hello, June! It’s time to decide what to read this month. But first, here’s a summary of last month’s reading. Actually, I haven’t read a lot because I have been busy with my trip to the lighthouse. Hehe!

1. To the Lighthouse by Virginia Woolf – (5/5) Yes, this is what I meant when I said “trip to the lighthouse”. I’m proud that I finished my first modernist novel. Yahoo! Thanks to Angus for a very substantial discussion, both online and offline.

2. Tall Story by Candy Gourlay – (4/5) I enjoyed reading this book even though it’s considered as a children’s book (or some as YA). One of my goals this year is to read more books from Filipino authors. So far, I can say that I’m satisfied with these books I selected. Okay, I didn’t really choose them but they are recommendations from our book club. Hehe.

3. Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen – (4/5) I put this on hold for a while because it’s difficult to read two classic novels at the same time. But tada! I’m glad I finished it yesterday. Then I learned that this is Austen’s first published work when she was still 19 years old. Wow!

Next is my required reading list for June.

mecanism_june_books

1. Insurgent by Veronica Roth – This is the sequel to Divergent, a book I read last March. After this and I’ll be a book closer to my 2014 Dare Reads goal organized by our book club.

2. Megamorphs #3: Elfangor’s Secret by K.A. Applegate – Another book to cross out from one of my reading goals list, my Animorphs Project.

3. Hunger by Knut Hamsun – I told myself I won’t read another classic this month. But there’s this urge to read this book because of star-studded reviews by my bookish friends and I got interested that this is written by a Norwegian author. (Or maybe I’m just hungry?)  Besides, this is a short novel, right?

4. Elmer by Gerry Alangilan – This is a graphic novel that I borrowed from my dear friend Tricia to expand the variety of works that I’m reading. I decided to start with komiks (Filipino comics) to be familiar with our local artists.

Also, I’m still rereading The City & The City by China Miéville via audio book. It’s my first time to listen to an audio book and I’m enjoying it. I actually tried Lolita before but decided to stick with the e-book. But I can still remember how these words were spoken: “Lolita, light of my life, fire of my loins. My sin, my soul. Lo-lee-ta”. Haha!

That is all for June. Here’s to hoping that I’ll finish these books!

10 thoughts on “Required Reading: June 2014

  1. Yahoo! indeed. To the Lighthouse and Sense and Sensibility in one month! 🙂 I enjoyed Elmer. It’s a little strange but I found it compelling. I wonder if this Hunger is the same as the 2008 movie of the same name with Michael Fassbender in it? Will Google. Hehe.

    1. Have you googled it? It’s not the same as the movie. I first learned about the book from TFG’s “Lost in Translation” recommendation list.

  2. Oooh, Hunger. It’s one of my best reads last year (?) and I hope you enjoy reading it. And what, Insurgent? Awoo awoo haha! I want to try reading local comics too but I find Trese more interesting. 🙂

    Have a lovely June, Meliza!

    1. Wow, favorite! Why did I suddenly feel intimidated when you mentioned Woolf? Haha! I started reading the book this morning. I was encouraged by your comment. 😉

  3. Ooooh, you’re reading Hunger! Let’s see where you will be most affected: the finger, the dry wood, or… Yeah, let’s just see. Prepare thy heart! 😀

Leave a Reply

