Books & Films: Atonement, The Fault in Our Stars, Edge of Tomorrow

Last Saturday, I watched three films. What got my attention and I found it funny is that I watched three movies in a day whereas I watched three movies last May. Yes, for the whole month of May, I only watched three, the least I did in a month this year. Last Thursday, I was thinking of what to do on a holiday. Blogging, watching movies and reading books came to mind. That’s when I realized that all of the three movies that I watched last Saturday are all based from books. As mentioned in the title of this blog post, these are the movies that I watched and enjoyed.

1. Atonement (2007) wpid-wp-1402589483967.jpegThis British romantic drama war film is based on the historical fiction novel of the same title by Ian McEwan. I read this with my book club friends last April. I’ve been planning to watch the movie after reading but I’ve been in a “movie watching slump” (Does this phrase even exist?) last month. A friend asked me that we watch it together albeit we’re in different locations and I was glad I did. The movie was very faithful to the novel, which makes a reader happy and satisfied when watching adapted films. I admire the actors that brought the characters into life. Another remarkable aspect is the film’s use of the sound of the typewriter and the piano as background music. This imposed added feelings of tension to the story. Also, I was amazed with the sweeping shot at the beach which depicted different moods during the war. Full of emotions, I would certainly recommend this film.

My Goodreads rating: 5/5 stars
My Letterboxd rating: 5/5 stars

2. The Fault in Our Stars (2014) wpid-wp-1402589478086.jpeg This is a romantic comedy-drama film based on the young adult novel of the same title by John Green. John Green has been famous in the young adult genre so I decided to read this book last year. I really enjoyed watching this movie with my friends. This movie made me laugh and… Okay, I’ll admit, it also made me cry. I believe that Shailene Woodley and Ansel Elgort were impressive as Hazel Grace and Augustus. I heard that John Green was present most of the time during filming. So that explains why the movie is regarded as a good adaptation of the novel.

My Goodreads rating: 4/5 stars
My Letterboxd rating: 4/5 stars

3. Edge of Tomorrow (2014) wpid-wp-1402589447165.jpeg It actually surprised me that this science fiction Tom Cruise movie is based from a book. I just found that out after the movie when the credits were shown. It is based from All You Need is Kill, a sci-fi war novel by Hiroshi Sakurazaka. The movie is clever and funny. Tom Cruise and Emily Blunt are superb and I love the battle scenes. The ending will make you think so the movie experience will stay. I’m not really strict in following the “read the book before watching the movie” rule so I added this book to my to-read list. By the way, this book was adapted into a graphic novel too.

My Goodreads rating: to read
My Letterboxd rating: 4/5 stars

I once watched a movie and then discovered that it was based from a book. My initial reaction: “So that’s why it was that good!” As a matter of fact, some of the greatest movies of all time were adapted from books. So yeah, I’m looking forward for more!

Love books? What About Movies?

7 thoughts on “Books & Films: Atonement, The Fault in Our Stars, Edge of Tomorrow

    1. It was a TFiOS TFG HOHOL. I thought you don’t want to watch it anymore. Hehe! I love Keira Knightley too. And I learned to really like James McAvoy because of Atonement.

  1. Personally, I am not a fan of book-to-movie adaptations, especially of books I like or love. There’s almost always something wrong with the casting or a major deviation from the original plot which frustrates me to no end. Haha. So far the only movie adaptation I liked was The Hunger Games series, which followed the books’ plot faithfully (though why the heck did they cast a very short actor to play Peeta to JLaw’s towering Katniss? I really don’t figure).

    1. There are a lot of book-to-movie adaptations that I didn’t like too. But I believe that there are still good adaptations out there. Hehe. I like The Hunger Games movies too. Also, there are great movies based from books that I haven’t read yet like The Prestige and Shutter Island. Maybe they should stay unread? Haha.

      1. I didn’t know The Prestige was based on a book, I liked that movie. 🙂 I think I’m better off watching the movie first before reading the book, as much as possible. Like Silver Linings Playbook, I watched the movie first (JLaw fan much) before reading the book. Totally different stories; in hindsight the movie seemed more of a spin-off than an adaptation. I liked both, but it would have driven me bonkers if I’d read and liked the book first before watching the movie. 😛

          1. Without spoiling anything, suffice it to say some characters had more presence and personality in the movie than in the book. Oh, and Pat has a different last name in the book too.

Leave a Reply

