Required Reading: July 2014

It’s already July. Wait, really? That reminds me, I have to check if I’m on track with my 2014 reading goals. But anyway, let’s first have a look at my reading list last month.

1. Elmer by Gerry Alanguilan – (4/5) This is my first Filipino graphic novel. I really like it and I’m proud of it.

2. Hunger by Knut Hamsun – (4/5) I never imagined until now that a single physical feeling like hunger could be the subject of a novel as captivating as this.

3. Megamorphs #3: Elfangor’s Secret by K.A. Applegate – (3/5) It was entertaining to read about the Animorphs again. And time travel is confusing, as always.

4. Insurgent by Veronica Roth – (3/5) I never wanted to put down this book. I may not like it that much but while reading, I always wanted to know what happens next. A real page-turner.

5. The Battle of the Labyrinth by Rick Riordan – (4/5) It’s been a while since I read a Percy Jackson book. It’s a nice voyage into and out of the Labyrinth with remarkable encounters with the gods and demigods. One more book and I’m done with the series.

wpid-wp-1404487489880.jpeg

Since half of the year has already passed, I will start to focus on reading books that are included in my 2014 Reading Goals. Here’s my list for this month:

1. A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens – This is our book club’s current book of the month. Another classic, eh? I really hope that I will like this as my first Dickens novel.

2. Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock by Matthew Quick – This is one of the recommended young adult novels in our book club. I miss reading young adult contemporary novels, so here’s one.

3. The Remains of the Day by Kazuo Ishiguro – I hope I will like this book as much as I like Kazuo Ishiguro’s other novel, Never Let Me Go.

There goes my list. I already started with A Tale of Two Cities. And because of good ratings and reviews, I’m already excited to read the other two. 🙂

12 thoughts on “Required Reading: July 2014

  1. Agree with you on Insurgent. Read Allegiant soon! 😉

    Have you read Matthew Quick’s other novel, Silver Linings Playbook? I loved it and I want to read Leonard Peacock soon. Will watch out for your rating. And oh, Kazuo Ishiguro. Haven’t read Remains yet but I know that I should. Soon. Hehe.

    Excited for July, but I’m more excited for August. Haha!

    1. I will read Allegiant this August. Haha! I haven’t read Silver Linings Playbook yet. I will, soon. 🙂

      I am really so excited to read all the books that I’m planning to read for the rest of the year. Yes, I already have plans. Haha! Happy reader here.

  2. Uulitin ko lang yung sinabi Nathalie. Mag Heroes if Olympus ka na. Now na. Panoorin mo na din yung Silver Linings Playbook movie adaptation. Ngayun din. Demanding lang. Hahaha. 😀

    1. Naks. Tin. Is that you? Nagtatagalog ka na. Hahaha! Maybe next year, babasahin ko ang Heroes of Olympus. And I already watched Silver Linings Playbook. Yung book ang hindi ko pa nababasa.

    1. Apir! So excited to read this. I’ll start after Dickens. And I think I’ll be reading more of the books you love for the remaining months of this year. 😀

Leave a Reply

