Required Reading: September 2014

september

I moved into a new apartment. No DSL connection anymore. And unfortunately, inside is a mobile network dead spot. No calls and text messages. No internet. Unless I stay at the gate or go up and sit on the stairs at the 3rd floor. Effort. 😦 (Guess where I am now.) But I found out last Saturday that there’s a phone signal using the other mobile network provider. Looks like I’ll go back to the other provider very soon. I hope I get to post more aside from this Required Reading meme in the next few days.

Despite being busy with a trip and the process of moving into a new place, here’s what I read last month:

1. Landline by Rainbow Rowell – (4.5/5) I love Rowell’s wit in her writing. This novel is about a married couple so I am kinda surprised that I really like it.

2. Fear of Flying by Erica Jong – (3.5/5) Even though I didn’t like the protagonist in this novel, I still like how this is written. Funny and engaging read despite the explicit words. The book club discussion was fun too!

3. Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell – (5/5) This is my first David Mitchell novel, but definitely not the last. We finished it more than a week ago already, but my friends and I are still talking about it. “Revolutionary or gimmicky?” 😛 Among the six stories, An Orison of Sonmi-451 and The Letters from Zedelgheim are my favorites.

4. The Maze Runner by James Dashner – (3/5) A page turner until about 80% of the book. I think I have to take a break in reading dystopian novels.

I  need to make progress in my 2014 reading goals, so for September:

1. The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams – A Goodreads-TFG recommendation under the LOL LMAO ROFL category. Let’s see if this will really make me laugh.

2. A Storied Life of A.J. Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin – A book about books. And a bookstore. This is the book for the first joint discussion of Goodreads: The Flipino Group, our book cluband the Flips Flipping Pages.

3. 84, Charing Cross Road by Helene Hanff – Our book club’s first travelling book. Finally got my hands on this book after a year of waiting for my turn.

4. Les Miserables by Victor Hugo – I was dared by a friend to finish this book this year. Already started reading a few days ago. I hope I could finish this tome before the year ends.

By the way, anyone who wants to read Les Miserables with me? 😀

6 thoughts on “Required Reading: September 2014

  1. Sometimes, having no Internet is a blessing too because you get to read more. Hehe. Anyway, I really enjoyed reading Landline and of course Cloud Atlas with you and the other DMM II: Keep Calm and Look At My Comet hahaha! Yay, Ewing girl! ❤

    Good luck on Les Mis. Not taking you up on your offer, though. 😉

    1. Having no internet helped me realize that I’ve been spending a lot of time online. I promise that I’ll only use the internet adequately when I obtain a good access. Haha! Okay, I don’t promise. But I’ll minimize my online presence.

      Keep Calm and Look at My Comet. LOL!

Leave a Reply

