Book Thoughts: Flipped by Wendelin Van Draanen

flipped.jpeg

“I see the day that my view of things around me started changing.”

I love Flipped. I found myself grinning from ear to ear while reading this. Haha! I like the “he-said, she-said” style. It’s funny how a specific moment that happened to two individuals could be seen in different perspectives, especially on that day when Juli and Bryce first met.

flipped_julianna_bryce.jpeg

I admire Juli’s description of events and things. As Bryce said, “Who in junior high do you know would put together a sentence like that?” Also, it felt wonderful how she appreciates the sycamore tree, the breeze, the earth… I love how she, as my friend and I said, is “in love with life”.

Here’s one of the best lines from Juli… She constructs sentences well, and she said this in their second grade! 🙂

“My heart stopped. It just stopped beating. And for the first time in my life, I had that feeling. You know, like the world is moving all around you, all beneath you, all inside you, and you’re floating. Floating in midair. And the only thing keeping you from drifting away is the other person’s eyes. They’re connected to yours by some invisible physical force, and they hold you fast while the rest of the world swirls and twirls and falls completely away.”

As for Bryce, it’s kind of difficult to forgive him about the eggs. Good thing he flipped, from being a jerk then a coward, to someone who finally redeems himself.

I love these lines from Bryce after he flipped…

“I’d scale that monster sycamore if I could. Right to the top. And I’d yell her name across the rooftops for the whole world to hear.”

The other characters in the book were also created well. I praise Bryce’s grandfather in helping Bryce, his words of wisdom… And I applaud Juli’s family for being the lovable family that they were. I associate Juli’s father with my father. I was reminded how lucky I am that my father cares and loves my uncle just like Juli’s father cared and loved his brother.

This is a cute and wonderful book, simple and easy to read, but really helped me to appreciate life and people more. And I enjoyed the movie too!

(5/5 stars)

2 thoughts on “Book Thoughts: Flipped by Wendelin Van Draanen

Leave a Reply

