Book Thoughts: Landline by Rainbow Rowell

landline.jpeg

“Nobody’s lives just fit together. Fitting together is something you work at. It’s something you make happen – because you love each other.”

Landline is Rainbow Rowell‘s fourth novel. It is a contemporary adult novel about a marriage in trouble. It is also different from her previous books because there is a paranormal spin in here.  I have read and liked Rowell’s first three novels so when this book was released last July, I readily bought a copy. (I mean I was forced by Lynai, my official Rainbow Rowell reading buddy, to buy us our copy. Hehe!)

At first, I thought I wouldn’t like this novel because it’s about a married couple. I was worried I wouldn’t relate to it. If this isn’t a Rainbow Rowell book, I think I wouldn’t buy and read this. But as expected, I really liked the book. I like Rowell’s writing style, her wit and her usual pop culture references (LOTR. Harry Potter!). I like how she composes her sentences and dialogues. This is an adult book but it’s cute. Scenes could be funny and sad at the same time. Maybe I am just biased because this is a Rainbow Rowell book. So what? I’m a fan! And I am now making a vow that I’m going to read all her future books. 🙂

I love how she creates her characters. Others may not like Georgie, because she is a tad selfish and immature, but I still like her. I want to have an older sister like her. As Heather said, “You are such a badass. Have I mentioned that I want to be you when I grow up?”. At the start, I didn’t like Neil. He was timid. (What could have happened if Georgie didn’t make the first move?) But he is so sweet (“Georgie. You cannot be jealous of Dawn–that’s like the sun being jealous of a lightbulb.”).  Also, he is a very responsible and patient husband. I am also fond of the other characters in Landline. Heather, Noomi (Meow!) Georgie’s mom, Kendrick and even Seth! It’s like I wanted to know them in real life or meet someone like them. They were flawed but they felt real.

Others may say that the couple’s problem wasn’t a big deal. But that’s reality. Career versus family life. That’s one of those cases where marriages start to crack; some misunderstanding and lack of communication could be a beginning of a ruined marriage. Yes, Georgie could just be paranoid. But I believe that’s what happens when you suddenly realize that there’s something missing. You love your husband and kids but the joy of being married is slowly fading. I approve how she thought about it that much when the problem isn’t that big yet. With all her thoughts caused by the existence of the magic phone, when she considered that maybe it would be better if she didn’t marry Neil at all, she made a decision.

“(Even if your heart is broken and attacking you, you’re still not better off without it.)”

And I love what Georgie did in the end.

(4.5/5 stars)

4 thoughts on “Book Thoughts: Landline by Rainbow Rowell

  1. Yay! I loved it that you loved Landline despite being not married hehe. So, lesson learned from Georgie and Neal: Communicate! Easier said than done, though, especially when you’re fighting haha.

    Hope to read another Rowell with you soon. When is she going to have her next book? 😉

    And, aren’t you glad I forced you to buy the book?

    1. Nyahaha. Trolling in the deep! Yes, to Andrew Garfield, Mrs. Cumberbatch. Now it’s not a secret anymore. LOL

      “and even Seth!” because some people don’t like Seth. I may not really like him in real life but I like how his character is created. 😛

Leave a Reply

