Filipino Fridays 2014: Surprise, Reader!

filipino_friday.jpeg

The Filipino ReaderCon is just a month away! To support the event and to encourage Filipino readers to join, I decided to participate in this year’s Filipino Friday meme series. To find out more about this and other activities for the upcoming ReaderCon, visit the Filipino ReaderCon blog.

This week’s topic:

Surprise, Reader! Hello, it’s the first week of Filipino Fridays 2014! Whether it’s your first time to participate or not, tell us a bit about yourself. More specifically, tell us about your favorite book discoveries for this year. Any author you started reading this year that you can’t get enough of? A book you didn’t think you’d like, but you ended up liking/loving? Any book series that you just have to get your hands on? Have you discovered anything new from Filipino authors this year?

I’m Meliza. (Others call me Meca. 🙂 ) I rediscovered my love of reading last year, which made me sign up to Goodreads. I became an active member of a book club (Goodreads – The Filipino Group) since October 2013 (first time to attend a face-to-face discussion). I started this book blog last summer. These were the bookish decisions I made that made me the happy booklover that I am now. 😀

My favorite book discoveries this year are Atonement by Ian McEwan and Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell. Reading Cloud Atlas made me want to read more of David Mitchell’s works so I plan to read Ghostwritten soon. This year, I read three books by China Miéville and I want more. Maybe Perdido Street Station next.

I thought I wouldn’t like Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides and To the Lighthouse by Virginia Woolf but they’re definitely included in my best reads this year.  I finished the Divergent series this year just because it was a dare but I didn’t like it that much. I also started The Giver and The Maze Runner because of the movies but I’ll try to read the rest of these series soon (I hope 🙂 ).

Reading works by Filipino authors is one of my reading goals this year. (I’m guilty of being a newbie with Filipino works.) So far, I read Interim Goddess of Love (only the first book, but I’ll read the rest of the sequels soon) by Mina Esguerra, Tall Story by Candy Gourlay (Shine next!), Elmer and Wasted by Gerry Alanguilan, Kikomachine Komix #1 by Manix Abrera, and Fall Like Rain by Ana Tejano. Before the year ends, I plan to read Trese #1 by Budjette Tan and any book from Eliza Victoria.

So that’s it for my first Filipino Friday post. I’ll try again next week. 🙂

10 thoughts on “Filipino Fridays 2014: Surprise, Reader!

  1. Yay on Eliza Victoria, David Mitchell and China Mieville! 😀 I also loved Atonement but I wonder why I don’t have the urge to read other McEwan books. 🙂

  2. I love Ian McEwan’s “Atonement,” though it’s so heartbreaking. Briony is one of the literary characters I hate the most, along with Amy Dunne from “Gone Girl.” 🙂 I’ve read “Middlesex” too and really enjoyed it.

  3. Yes, Atonement is heartbreaking. I hated Briony too but I felt sorry for her in the end. I haven’t read Gone Girl yet but I watched the movie last Tuesday. Amy is so sick, but she’s Amazing, right? Hehe!

    By the way, thanks for dropping by. 🙂

Leave a Reply

