Required Reading: November 2014

november

Another month, another set of required readings. But first, here are the books that I have read last month.

1. The Man Who Mistook His Wife for a Hat and Other Clinical Tales by Oliver Sacks – (4/5) Our book club’s book of the month. Interesting read about different neurological conditions. I was reminded of the complexity of our brain.

2. Stoner by John Edward Williams – (5/5) At first, I thought this is a boring book but I was so wrong. It was a remarkable reading experience being a witness to Professor Stoner’s life.

3. My True Love Gave to Me: Twelve Holiday Stories by Stephanie Perkins – (4/5) A collection of short stories that I was compelled to read because of Rainbow Rowell. Cute and charming love stories for the upcoming holidays.

And for Les Miserables, I am at Volume 3: Marius. I already met the Friends of the ABC, which makes me sing Do You Hear the People Sing. Like a lot.

Because it’s my goal to finish this Les Miserables tome before the year ends, I am limiting my reading to these short and easy reads:

November.jpeg1. Dwellers by Eliza Victoria – Our book club’s book for the discussion that will happen in the Filipino ReaderCon on November 15.

2. Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins – This would be my first Perkins book. After reading her short story in My True Love Gave to Me, I finally decided to read this.

3. Animorphs #32 (The Separation) and #33 (The Illusion) by K.A. Applegate – Because I need to move on with my Animorphs project.

That’s my list for November. And I’m excited for the Filipino ReaderCon. Hope to see you there!

4 thoughts on “Required Reading: November 2014

  1. You already read Stoner! I am intimidated.

    I am excited to read Dwellers this month. Anna and the French Kiss made me want to go to Paris. 🙂

    Have an awesome November, Meliza!

    1. Intimidated? Haha. Don’t be.

      Now, I am excited to read Anna and the French Kiss. So that I could read another Paris aside from Les Miserables Paris. Hehe.

  2. Wow 5 stars sa Stoner. Will add it to my list. My True Love Gave to Me sounds lovely. It reminds me of Let It Snow, a compilation of cute, Christmasy romantic stories from different authors. But yung Les Mis. Not anytime soon. Hehehe. (Do you hear the people sing? Singing the songs of angry men? Is it the music of the people who will not be slaves again!)

    1. Add them all to your “to-read” list. Hehe! (When the beating of your heart echoes the beating of the drums, there is a life about to start when tomorrow comes.)

Leave a Reply

