Filipino Friday 2014 #4: Let’s talk about Diverse Books

filipino_friday.jpeg

The Filipino ReaderCon is just one week away. Yes, I’m excited! And here is today’s Filipino Friday question:

Do you think we have enough diversity in the books that we read? Are our choices enough to satisfy our different tastes? Are our writers able to present the variety of people, culture, lifestyle, interests and so on? How diverse are your reading interests, and are you able to find enough books to satisfy your reading needs? Do you think we need more diverse books?

There is enough diversity in the books we read, that is, if we are talking about books published internationally. A lot of books are readily available for us to read in different genres, in different cultures, with varying types of characters and settings. But with regards to Filipino literature, I think we need more. I admit that I am not that much exposed to local works yet. And I am happy that I am discovering more Filipino authors and their works lately. Local chick lit and graphic novels are getting popular. But I am looking forward to reading more Filipino works in other genres. Like sci-fi and fantasy. (Or maybe new weird? Hehe.) Also, it would be great to read books with Philippine settings, showing our history and culture.

I can say that I am a diverse reader. I am willing to read books in any genre. And it is amazing to discover and read books with different themes, cultures, styles, etc. We learn more and understand more if we read diverse books. So hopefully, Philippine literature will soon have enough diverse books that can fulfill the growing needs of Filipino readers. I have confidence in our local authors. I know we’re getting there. And they need our support. (So let’s go to the ReaderCon, okay? 🙂 )

One thought on “Filipino Friday 2014 #4: Let’s talk about Diverse Books

Leave a Reply

