The Top Ten Books I Read in 2014

Just a few hours more and 2014 is about to end. This year, I have read 55 books and 3 more from the Animorphs Series. Here is the list of my favorites from the books that I have read this year, plus some of my favorite quotes from each book.

Top Ten:

top_ten_books_2014

  1. Atonement by Ian McEwan

    “A person is, among all else, a material thing, easily torn and not easily mended.”

  2. Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell

    “What is any ocean but a multitude of drops?”

  3. The Remains of the Day by Kazuo Ishiguro

    “One can’t be forever dwelling on what might have been. One should realize one has as good as most, perhaps better, and be grateful.”

  4. Stoner by John Williams

    “The love of literature, of language, of the mystery of the mind and heart showing themselves in the minute, strange, and unexpected combinations of letters and words, in the blackest and coldest print—the love which he had hidden as if it were illicit and dangerous, he began to display, tentatively at first, and then boldly, and then proudly.”

  5. Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides

    “We’re all made up of many parts, other halves. Not just me.”

  6. To the Lighthouse by Virginia Woolf

    “So fine was the morning except for a streak of wind here and there that the sea and sky looked all one fabric, as if sails were stuck high up in the sky, or the clouds had dropped down into the sea.”

  7. Flipped by Wendelin Van Draanen

    “Turn down a chance to feel magic for fear of a little dirt? I couldn’t believe it.”

  8. Les Misérables by Victor Hugo

    “The soul which loves and suffers is in a state of sublimity.”

  9. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

    “It amazes me what humans can do, even when streams are flowing down their faces and they stagger on, coughing and searching, and finding.”

  10. Stargirl by Jerry Spinelli

    “She was bendable light: she shone around every corner of my day.”

Honorable Mentions:

other_top_books_2014

  • A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens

    “It is a far, far better thing that I do, than I have ever done; it is a far, far better rest that I go to than I have ever known.”

  • Hunger by Knut Hamsun

    “It was not my intention to collapse; no, I would die standing.”

  • 84, Charing Cross Road by Helene Hanff

    “…I like the comradely sense of turning pages someone else turned…”

  • The Giver by Lois Lowry

    “I certainly liked the memory, though. I can see why it’s your favorite. I couldn’t quite get the word for the whole feeling of it, the feeling that was so strong in the room.”
    “Love,” The Giver told him.

  • A Dance with Dragons by George R.R. Martin

    “A reader lives a thousand lives before he dies,” said Jojen. “The man who never reads lives only one”.

It’s been a good year of reading for me. And I am looking forward to read more amazing books in 2015. 🙂

13 thoughts on “The Top Ten Books I Read in 2014

  1. Wow naman! #hispter Hahaha! Kidding. This is a very diverse list kaya hindi naman hipster. 🙂 This year mo lang pala nabasa yung Stargirl at The Book Thief.

  2. This list has a heap of books that are on my TBR and to see them there, to see that they are, in fact, doable, is very encouraging. I’ve had The Remains of the Day for about three years now and I’m yet to get past the first two chapters. It intimidates me for some reason… As for 84, Charring Cross Road, it’s one of my favourites from 2013; it’s such lovely little book!

    You seem to have had an awesome reading year! Good luck this year!

    1. Thank you. 🙂 Looking back, I was also intimidated before but it’s really rewarding once I read these books. I hope you could read a lot this year too, especially those books that you said are on your TBR.

Leave a Reply

