2015 Reading Goals

Last year holds the most number of books that I have read in a year. I have accomplished my 2014 Reading Goals. I have read 55 books (Thanks to the Goodreads 2014 Reading Challenge for helping me count.) and three books from the Animorphs Series plus a reread of China Mieville’s The City and the City.

So here I am again setting a new set of reading goals this year. And I am really excited! Here they are:

Goodreads 2015 Reading Challenge

“I have read 50 of 48 books.”

Read All Goodreads – The Filipino Group Monthly Discussion Books

  1. Navigating Early by Clare Vanderpool
  2. Love Walked In by Marisa de los Santos
  3. The God of Small Things by Arundhati Roy
  4. High Fidelity by Nick Hornby
  5. Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz
  6. The Maltese Falcon by Dashiell Hammett
  7. The Quiet American by Graham Greene
  8. Ubik by Philip K. Dick
  9. Go Set a Watchman by Harper Lee
  10. Monstress by Lysley Tenorio
  11. Alternative Alamat by Paolo Chikiamko

Read These Specific Titles

  1. The Blind Assassin by Margaret Atwood
  2. The Lost Symbol by Dan Brown
  3. A Clockwork Orange by Anthony Burgess
  4. Possession by A.S. Byatt
  5. Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell by Susanna Clarke
  6. The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes by Arthur Conan Doyle
  7. Lightning by Dean Koontz
  8. To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee
  9. The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch
  10. Perdido Street Station by China Miéville
  11. The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger
  12. The Amulet of Samarkand by Jonathan Stroud

Read At Least 4 Short Story Collections

  1. Drown by Junot Diaz
  2. Interpreter of Maladies by Jhumpa Lahiri
  3. CivilWarLand in Bad Decline by George Saunders
  4. The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes by Arthur Conan Doyle

So yes, I am participating again in the Goodreads Reading Challenge. Also, as I am currently an active member of a book club, I plan to read all the books assigned each month. I also chose 12 books that I will require myself to read, maybe one book each month of the year. And as I was inspired by The Short Story Station, a team blog by some friends, I will explore more the art of short stories by reading at least 4 short story collections. But the initial choices I mentioned above are subject to change.

Aside from these goals I challenged myself, I’ll be joining The Book Riot 2015 Read Harder Challenge. This sounds fun and will help me discover more books in other genres. I’ll be tracking the tasks in my next post. It is still my ambition to finish the TFG Filipino ReaderCon 2013 Recommendations List and the Animorphs Series. But I am not pressuring myself with a specific number this year.

So how about you? How did you fare in your 2014 reading? Have you set any reading goals this year?

8 thoughts on “2015 Reading Goals

  1. Finished my 2014 Goodreads reading challenge too.. with 13 surplus books to boot. Haha. Addict much. But unlike you, I do not have particular titles I really plan on reading (aside from new books in ongoing series). Maybe I could try that too, list at least 12 particular titles I must read interspersed with the other random books I tend to pick up. 🙂

    1. Congrats in your 2014 Reading Challenge. 🙂 I just love setting goals and making lists. Hehe! And they’re some of the books that I’ve been putting off for several months already.

  2. Some of the titles in your TBR are also included in my list this year. Let’s do read- alongs again? (Posting my own goals later)

    Happy new reading year, Meliza! 🙂

  3. I love your list! Excited ako for you sa JS&MN, Samarkand and Smoke & Mirrors! And sa Sherlock! And sa Civilwarland! (<-will lend this to you ha.) (Altho mas maganda yung Tenth of December, mas stronger siya na collection.) Good Luck sa Cather in the Rye! (pang hipster yan so…Haha!)

    1. I’m excited for those books too. 🙂 I really plan to borrow Civilwarland next week. They said Saunders get better each book so I decided to start with this. It’s his first, am I right?

Leave a Reply

