Required Reading: January 2015

Initially, I considered not doing Required Reading posts this year because sometimes I feel that I’m pressuring myself too much. But I can’t help it. I enjoy making plans, goals, and lists. So I thought of just limiting the books that I’ll require myself to read. At first, I told myself to set two each month, then just decide what to read next on a whim. But I was compelled to join The Book Riot Read Harder Challenge, plus I have our book club’s monthly books and some specific titles to read within the year. Well, that will still be 3-4 required books per month. I’ll just try not to stress myself out and not feel guilty if I can’t keep up with my required readings.

But before this month’s books, here are the books I read last December, capping off my awesome 2014 reading:

1. Les Misérables by Victor Hugo – (5/5) A very long book but really worth the time. I learned to love the characters and care for them during the 4 months that we’ve been together, especially Jean Valjean.

2. The Yellow-Lighted Bookshop: A Memoir, a History by Lewis Buzbee – (4/5) This is a book especially catered to voracious readers. This includes various topics about our book obsessions, bookstores, book buying and selling, death of literature(?), effects of newer technologies and more.

To start the year, here are the books I required myself to read this month:

january_books.jpeg

1. Navigating Early by Clare Vanderpool – Our book club’s book of the month.

2. Ghostwritten by David Mitchell – I’ll be reading this with some of my bookish friends, yes, my Cloud Atlas reading buddies.

3. The Happiness Project: Or Why I Spent a Year Trying to Sing in the Morning, Clean My Closets, Fight Right, Read Aristotle, and Generally Have More Fun by Gretchen Rubin – My self-improvement book for The Book Riot Read Harder Challenge. Appropriate book for the start of the year, right? I already started this book and I plan to read just a chapter each month.

4. The Lost Symbol by Dan Brown – The book that I would consider a guilty pleasure for The Book Riot Read Harder Challenge. (I’m still not sure what a guilty pleasure book means. Hehe!) I’ve been putting off reading this book for years already. But honestly, I enjoyed Dan Brown’s first 4 books. Maybe I could read Inferno too and be a Dan Brown completist.

What about you? What books did you choose to start your 2015 reading?

4 thoughts on “Required Reading: January 2015

  1. I’d love to join you on Dan Brown but gah, my January is already full. But yeah, I’m excited for Ghostwritten, so yay! I miss you, DMM II girls! 🙂

  2. The Happiness Project seems like a really apt read for the beginning of the year.

    For 2015 I also want to challenge myself to read a bit of the genres I’ve been estranged with for the longest time, self-help/self-improvement books in particular.

    Congrats on finishing Les Misérables!

Leave a Reply

