I Lost My Kindle

Yesterday, I lost my Kindle Paperwhite during commute. If it’s when I stepped down from the jeepney or when I boarded the bus or when I changed bus seats, I don’t know. Have I left it or was it stolen?

It is just really sad to lose something that I really love, something that I always bring wherever I go. I still read physical books, yes. I still buy paperbacks. But I got used to reading using an e-reader. It is just so convenient for me especially during travels. I can read long books without the disadvantages of bringing a heavy thick book. I can bring more books. And I can read in the dark!

So after panicking and realizing that my Kindle is really gone, what did I do?

  1. I cried. Yes, on the bus. From Batangas to Manila. Haha! I wonder what my seatmate was thinking about then. That time, I haven’t thought that I could easily buy a new one if I really wanted to. I just felt so devastated losing a favorite thing, something that always accompanies me during travels and commute.
  2. I sent a text message to my bookish friend telling her what I lost. I sent a message to my reading buddies in our Ghostwritten chat thread. I sent a text message to my bookish aunt. I sent a message to my siblings group chat. I just needed to tell it to people who will understand what I was going through.
  3. I tweeted, just to get it out of my chest. I initially decided to post it on Facebook, but I rarely post complains and those kinds of stuff there. I seldom tweet but Twitter has been my outlet of frustrating statements lately. I know it’s kinda inappropriate especially to my followers but… Well, I can tweet whatever I want. Heh!
  4. I searched Amazon and other online stores for Kindle Paperwhite and Voyage. I checked the prices and the advantages of a Voyage versus a Paperwhite. I don’t know yet when I’ll buy a new one. Still thinking. Tight budget. 🙂
  5. I downloaded the Kindle App for Android. Thanks to Amazon for storing purchased books in the Cloud. At least I can still read them using my phone, for now.
  6. I kept telling people what happened whenever they ask me if I was okay. I probably looked so unhappy yesterday.
  7. I deregistered my Kindle in my Amazon account. This is to prevent further purchases on my credit card using the Kindle. So it’s really goodbye now.
  8. I downloaded another e-book reader app. This is for the e-books that I have which I didn’t purchase in Amazon. I’m not sure if I could read third-party e-books in the Kindle App. I haven’t figured it out yet.
  9. I transferred the e-book that I am currently reading to my phone. Good thing I still have a copy in my office PC. I started reading but I’m still struggling. I don’t know how long I could do this. I find it straining to the eyes. I don’t know, maybe I’m just not used to it. After this book, I think I’ll be reading a paperback next.
  10. And before sleeping, I sent a text message again to my friend. Because I accidentally deleted the book that I’m reading on my phone! I thought I was only deleting it in the app. Gaaah! I still don’t know how to use it.

I am thinking that maybe losing my Kindle e-reader is a sign. Maybe a reminder that I should read more physical books, read those books sitting on my shelves for a long time now? Or maybe it’s a sign that I should read less, allot more time for other important things? Either way, I’m still mourning.

15 thoughts on “I Lost My Kindle

  1. We all feel sad when we lose something we consider important. I’m glad your purchased books are stored in a cloud. It would double the grief if not for it. Anyway, I’m positive you can purchase a new one soon. If there’s a will, there’s a way no matter how tight the budget is. 🙂

  2. I didn’t “lose” my old Kindle in the physical sense, but it was almost the same thing seeing it damaged irreparably. So I mourn with you because I know how it feels to suddenly not have a working e-reader. *hugs*

    Oh, and you can read ebooks not purchased from Amazon on the Kindle app. Just send them to your Kindle email and then sync the app. It should appear a coupla minutes later.

  3. Wow I felt your pain so much while reading this I swear to god it must have felt like losing an arm, yeah?

    Wherever your Kindle is, I hope it’s in a better place. Who knows, it might even make a reader out of someone out there in the world and make them fall in love with books just as you do.

    Cheer up, Meliza!

  4. Uhm, welcome to our club! But seriously, that sucks. I also find myself comparing Voyage and Paperwhite because I want an e-reader even if I don’t read e-books. Maybe I will read e-books if I have an e-reader.

Leave a Reply

