Required Reading: March 2015

Even though February is the shortest month of the year, I’m glad I got to finish the following books:

  1. Love Walked In by Marisa de los Santos – (3.5/5) Cornelia, Clare and Teo are interesting characters that I would still like to meet in person regardless of the contrived plot.
  2. Cain by Jose Saramago – (3/5) Despite Saramago’s odd way of constructing his sentences and his unpleasant modification of Old Testament stories, I still enjoyed reading this novella.
  3. Love, Rosie by Cecelia Ahern – (4/5) This may sound silly but I cried reading this book. Hahaha! I love the friendship of Alex and Rosie. There were very frustrating events in their lives that made me want to bump their heads together but that shows how affected I was in their story.
  4. Perdido Street Station by China Mieville – (4.5/5) Mieville’s world-building is super awesome!!! I was thinking of rating it 5 but there are a lot of characters and some of them, I think, were never needed. But maybe I’ll meet them again when I read the other Bas-Lag books?

And here are the books that I’m excited to read this March:

march_2015_books

  1. The God of Small Things by Arundhati Roy – I initially planned to read this last December, extremely recommended by a friend, but postponed it for a while because it is our book club’s book for this month.
  2. Civilwarland in Bad Decline by George Saunders – Since one of my goals this year is to read more short stories, I decided to start with this collection. So yes, this is also my Book Riot Read Harder Challenge book for a collection of short stories.
  3. Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta – My YA novel for the Book Riot Read Harder Challenge, this is also one of our book club’s favorites.
  4. The Blind Assassin by Margaret Atwood – This is my first Margaret Atwood book. Hearing that this is a very brilliant book, I’m looking forward to reading this.

So that’s my reading list for March. Have to read now, haha, I am behind in our book club’s reading plan!

15 thoughts on “Required Reading: March 2015

      1. And I haven’t started with God of Small Things yet!!! Basta, I cried over Jellicoe. I have to process my feelings so talk to me!!! Haha

  1. Love, Rosie made you cry…. brb adding that book to my to-read list too! Yay for tearjerkers haha.

    And Jellicoe Road aaahhhh I’ve been wanting to read that too for the longest time!

Leave a Reply

