My Top Ten Tyrion Lannister Quotes

With just a few days before the premiere of the fifth season of the television series Game of Thrones, I am one of the excited bunch. (Especially since Winds of Winter is still very far from our grasp.) And because I suddenly miss Tyrion Lannister, one of my favorite characters from the book, I put together a list of my favorite quotes from him. These are copied from the first five books of A Song of Ice and Fire series by George R. R. Martin, spoken by our beloved witty dwarf.

Tyrion_Lannister_quotes_from_books.jpeg

1. I only need half my wits to be a match for you.

– A Dance with Dragons

2. Schemes are like fruit, they require a certain ripening.

– A Clash of Kings

3. All this mistrust will sour your stomach and keep you awake at night, ’tis true, but better that than the long sleep that does not end.

– A Dance with Dragons

4. There has never been a slave who did not choose to be a slave. Their choice may be between bondage and death, but the choice is always there.

– A Dance with Dragons

5. When you tear out a man’s tongue, you are not proving him a liar, you’re only telling the world that you fear what he might say.

– A Clash of Kings

6. Light our fire and protect us from the dark, blah blah, light our way and keep us toasty warm, the night is dark and full of terrors, save us from the scary things, and blah blah blah some more.

– A Dance with Dragons

king_mother_skirts.jpeg

7. Men fight more fiercely for a king who shares their peril than one who hides behind his mother’s skirts.

– A Clash of Kings

8. I have never liked you, Cersei, but you were my own sister, so I never did you harm. You’ve ended that. I will hurt you for this. I don’t know how yet, but give me time. A day will come when you think you are safe and happy, and suddenly your joy will turn into ashes in your mouth, and you’ll know the debt is paid.

– A Clash of Kings

9. Even a stunted, twisted, ugly little boy can look down over the world when he’s seated on a dragon’s back.

– A Game of Thrones

10. My mind is my weapon. My brother has his sword, King Robert has his warhammer, and I have my mind . . . and a mind needs books as a sword needs a whetstone if it is to keep its edge.

– A Game of Thrones

Aha! We like him because he’s also a bookworm. Haha! Now that I’ve shared my favorites, what are yours?

2 thoughts on “My Top Ten Tyrion Lannister Quotes

Leave a Reply

