Book Thoughts: Angelfall by Susan Ee

“The thought of superhuman beings with human temptations
and flaws sends a chill through me.”
 

angelfall

 

Angelfall, the first book in the Penryn & the End of Days series by Susan Ee, is a post-apocalyptic fantasy novel featuring angels who attacked our world. Lately, I’ve been holding back in reading dystopian novels because I think I’ve had enough last year but this one is recommended by our book club moderator this month, and I don’t regret reading it.

This is my first time to read a book about angels and I enjoyed reading about them. How they are portrayed in the book is stunning. My favorite scene is in the beginning, the first time Penryn, our narrator, saw angels. Men with wings in different colors. Supernatural beings with their muscled forms. I love that fight scene between the “snowy angel” and the other five, with Penryn and her family watching. This is the event that resulted to Penryn and “snowy angel” Raffe to be together and help each other solve each of their problems.

I like the first chapters, thrilling and interesting enough. The middle part is just okay, not that exciting for me. But the fast-paced action in the ending chapters gripped me and had me turning the pages faster. There are some gruesome scenes that I wish I didn’t read while eating. Yet those disturbing scenes are also the heartbreaking ones. Also, I’m not sold in the romance parts. I think my Romance Grinch friend infected me in some way. LOL!

The ending wants us to believe that the angels are superhuman yet they are flawed. While the frail and struggling humans are still worth to be proud of. I don’t know; I am not that affected. Maybe I’m getting tired of this genre. Even so, angel politics and some concepts about God, the Messenger, archangels and stuff are intriguing enough that I’m still willing to read the next book in the series.

(3/5 stars)

2 thoughts on “Book Thoughts: Angelfall by Susan Ee

  1. I haven’t read a book about angels too, but I am more interested about the Unearthly Series by Cynthia Hand. Sometimes, reading trilogies does seem tiring, no?

Leave a Reply

