Required Reading: May 2015

These are the books that I read last month (and this first week of May):

1. Ghost World by Daniel Clowes – (4/5) A graphic novel where the protagonists are angry and bitchy adolescents. Nevertheless, what they are and their friendship felt real.

2. Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson – (5/5) A retelling of Peter Pan for my Book Riot Read Harder Challenge that made my heart ache for Tiger Lily. Tinker Bell as the narrator is effective.

3. The Blind Assassin by Margaret Atwood – (5/5) This is my first book from Atwood. I love her writing and her words. I was amazed by the plot and her style of story-telling.

4. The Mythology Class: A Graphic Novel by Arnold Arre – (5/5) A Filipino graphic novel about a group of students on a quest that will make us remember our own folklore and mythology. Kudos to Arnold Arre for this contribution in our local comics industry.

5. Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz – (4/5) Our book club’s book for April. This is about family, friendship, love and acceptance. I adore the two boys in this novel and I’m crazy about their parents. 😀

6. The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins – (3/5)  I like that the narration is told in different POVs with jumping timelines and the chapters are divided by morning and night, usually at the same time with the train schedule. I was just not captivated with the storyline in about the last third of the book. A book published this year for my Book Riot Read Harder Challenge.

7. Angelfall by Susan Ee – (3/5) A post-apocalyptic fantasy novel featuring angels.  Angels and their politics are interesting and intriguing but I’m just not into dystopia lately. A book published by an indie press for my Book Riot Read Harder Challenge.

These are the books that I plan to read in the remaining days of this month:

may_books.jpeg

1. Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell by Susanna Clarke – This is in my required reading last month but because of other books I read with some of my friends and required readings for our book club activities, I just read a third of this book. It’s my goal to finish it this month.

2. Interpreter of Maladies by Jhumpa Lahiri – A buddy read with some of my friends from the book club. I’ve been hearing good things about this short story collection so I think it’s about time to know why.

This is sort of a late post ’cause I’ve  been busy with reading. Maybe next time I should learn to say “no”? Haha! 😛

13 thoughts on “Required Reading: May 2015

  1. Thank you for saying “yes” to reading The Girl on the train with me. Hehe. 🙂 And I hope you will enjoy Interpreter of Maladies. Sexy is my favorite story there. 🙂

        1. I love the funny scenes with Strange and Norrell. The history parts also interest me. I like reading the footnotes especially with regards to faeries.

    1. We always buddy read. I hope you won’t get tired of me. Hahaha! I think we won’t discuss When Mr. Pirzada Came to Dine as much as we did with A Temporary Matter.

Leave a Reply

