Required Reading: July 2015

These are the books that I read last month (and some that spilled over this month):

1. The Secret Life of Bees by Sue Monk Kidd –  (3.5/5) An enjoyable and easy to read coming-of-age story that also tackles issues on discrimination towards black people. Feminism and information about bees also caught my attention.

2. number9dream by David Mitchell – (5/5) Again, I was greatly entertained by David Mitchell. Beautiful writing and I love his different narrative styles in each chapter.

3. The Maltese Falcon by Dashiell Hammett – (3/5) Maybe this  genre, crime noir, is not my cup of tea. Or maybe because I really don’t like Brigid? Haha! Still, this novel is worth reading and I think it’s amusing to have met Sam Spade.

4. The Quiet American by Graham Greene – (4/5) Our book club’s book for July. I enjoyed reading the history, the politics, America’s role in the French war in Vietnam plus the rivalry between the narrator and “The Quiet American”. I hope I could catch up with our book club’s online discussion. 🙂

5. It’s Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizzini – (4/5) A young adult book that will make the reader be more aware of suicide and depression. Funny and entertaining yet it teaches essential points regarding mental issues. I feel sad about the death of the author though.

And for the remaining days of July, these are the books that I intend to read:

1. The Sense of an Ending by Julian Barnes – A winner of the Man Booker Prize for my Book Riot Read Harder Challenge voted by you thru this poll.

2. Speaker for the Dead by Orson Scott Card – I have to read about Ender Wiggin again. This is recommended by two of my dearest friends. 😀

3. Paper Towns by John Green – Because the movie will be released this month!

I’ve been busy lately so this post is kinda late, again. Hehe! But at least, I can still set aside time for reading. 🙂

19 thoughts on “Required Reading: July 2015

  1. Speaker for the Dead. I want to read that too hehe! Hope you enjoy TSoaE. Paper Towns is a fun read, too, and I’m looking forward to watching the movie as well. Have a great month, Meliza! 🙂

    1. Yes, I’m happy with the books so far. I enjoyed and finished The Sense of an Ending yesterday afternoon and it kept me thinking until now. Hehe!

  2. I’m also about to start to read Paper Towns because of the movie. I hope I can finish it before the movie premiere. Actually, I started listening to the audiobook yesterday but I failed paying attention by the 10 minute mark. Haha.

    The Maltese Falcon is also not my genre so maybe it’s why I still I haven’t finished it yet until now (but I will finish it soon!). 😦

    1. I haven’t listened yet to an audiobook this month. (Because it’s not June anymore. Haha! Kidding!) I think I might start Paper Towns later. 🙂

  3. I am excited to hear what you think about Speaker for the Dead. It’s more talky than Ender’s Game. And it is a solid sci fi, touching on space travel and human (or otherwise) colonies, and moral and philosophical questions….you’ve got two hypeman (hypemen?) behind you. Pressure much? LOL.

    I am going to have you retell Papertowns to me because I don’t seem to have taken away anything memorable from the story. Haha.

    1. I’m excited to read Speaker for the Dead but I’ll finish Paper Towns first. And yes, I will pester you about these two books. Oh, actually, with The Sense of an Ending too.

  4. Yay you’ve read a lot this month!

    BUT MELIZA DO YOU HAVE A RADAR OR SOMETHING LOL

    Because you always pick up titles I’ve been wanting to read for ages and just—GIRL WE TRULY HAVE GOOD TASTE HAHAHA

    I’ll read It’s Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizzini soon! ❤

    1. Most of the books I pick to read are also books that I’ve been wanting to read for a long time, recommended by bookish friends. It’s great that I get to meet a lot of people with good tastes. Hehe!

  5. It’s kind of a funny story- loved it!! I only watched the movie but I know that I need to read it cause it was so silly and so deep in the same way 👏🏻👌🏻 btw nice variety of books 👍🏻☺️

Leave a Reply

