Required Reading: August 2015

Look at my star-studded list of books that I read last July:

1. The Sense of an Ending by Julian Barnes – (5/5) Barnes made me contemplate about memory and remorse and I’m not even as old as the protagonist.  Also, the ending is not the point.

2. Speaker for the Dead by Orson Scott Card – (5/5) As I was introduced with new characters here, I learned to love them as much as I loved Ender. And I’m on their side with regards to issues on whether to share information about human society to the piggies or not.

3. Paper Towns by John Green – (4/5) So those are paper towns? Cool! A big theme for a YA book. Reminds me of the movie adaptation of Into the Wild.

4. The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman Alexie – (5/5) I only read this because of Book Riot’s task to read a book by someone from an indigenous culture and I was glad that I chose this. (Actually, I just copied my friend’s choice for this category. Hehe!) An important book about the life on the Spokane Indian reservation. Funny and hopeful despite the harsh realities and difficulties within the “rez”.

5. Ubik by Philip K. Dick – (5/5) This is our book club’s book this August. I initially decided to follow the reading plan but after about half of the book, I wasn’t able to stop and read the rest in one sitting. If Philip K. Dick’s other novels are as enjoyable as this, I need to read more.

6. The Amulet of Samarkand by Jonathan Stroud – (4/5) Told in alternating perspectives of Nathaniel, the ambitious boy magician and Bartimaeus, the hilarious djinni. I hope their relationship will improve in the sequels.

And these are the books that I want to read this month:

August Required Reading

1. A Clockwork Orange by Anthony Burgess – A classic dystopian novel. Let’s see how it differs with today’s dystopian books.

2. To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee – Our book club will discuss Lee’s second novel, Go Set a Watchman, in September so I need to read this book first.

3. Longitude: The True Story of a Lone Genius Who Solved the Greatest Scientific Problem of His Time by Dava Sobel – My microhistory book for The Book Riot Read Harder Challenge.

There goes my list. Okay, back to dodging aliens!

8 thoughts on “Required Reading: August 2015

  1. Must dig up my copy of Clockwork Orange for our read-along. You had a grand reading month last July. I wish you’ll have the same this month! 🙂

  2. Great stats for July! And make kwento about The Clockwork Orange. Haha. That cover is so striking. (The iconic pop art style one is from penguin I think?) Have a lovely August!

    1. If you finish your required books, read A Clockwork Orange with me. Hehe! Then we’ll watch the movie!

      Yes, that cover was by Penguin Books, published earlier than what’s in this post.

    1. I know right! I try to read different genres to learn more. Hehe! By the way, thanks for stopping by even though I haven’t updated this book blog. Our movie blog got some of the blogging time.

Leave a Reply

